I like the sight of could covered mountain tops in the morning.
I like the sight of could covered mountain tops in the morning.

What is more tiring than climbing 10,000 feet in two days? Spending 12 hours in the car driving to the hills and back. KK and I drove to Burke, VT on Saturday and Smugglers Notch, VT on Sunday and shattered our legs keeping the watts up some pretty steep climbs.

I was particularly please to see KK less than two and a half minutes behind me at the top of a 1,700 feet climb. My bet? #2 for KK up Lemmon in November…..

But the highlight of the week end was the last 1,000 feet of climb for me. Not necessarily because of the power – although it was pretty good – but because I was able to somewhat ignore the power meter and find the intensity level that took me way above my comfort zone for a long time – and being able to do it after 9,000 feet of hard climbing over 24 hours.

It is really interesting to get to the level in training where the quality of the effort is judged as much in psychological terms as in physical terms.

Trainright.

