1 – Right after I took this picture I got a text from my sister-in-law telling me to head back home as my mother’s health was deteriorating quickly. It inspired this post:

Life, Death, Diabetes and Cancer

At the top of the Gibraltar climb in Santa Barbara, California.

At the top of the Gibraltar climb in Santa Barbara, California. December.

2 – In August I rode from Geneva to Nice. Seven days, over 800 kilometers, 20 mountain passes and 22,000 meters of climbing in the process.

The Mediterranean Sea in Nice, France

The Mediterranean Sea in Nice, France. August.

3 – I love mountains. I love to climb mountains. I climbed the famed Cime de la Bonnette, the highest paved road in Europe, on Stage 5 of the Haute Route. Uphill time-trial: man against mountain. The purest form of pain.

Cime de la Bonnette, French Alps. August

Cime de la Bonnette, French Alps. August

4 – I love to train. For me the start of the training season was in March when I headed down to our house in Tucson, Arizona. I was accompanied by five of my Haute Route teammates.

Tucson, Arizona. March

Tucson, Arizona. March

5 – Life is also about giving back. In November I attended the JDRF Gala in Toronto with my wife Mary Lou. We donated a Team Novo Nordisk bike, team kit and VIP package for the Tour de Beauce. JDRF raised $10,500 through our donation.

JDRF Gala, Toronto. November.

JDRF Gala, Toronto. November.

6 – Few people actually no this but the only Pro Tour event in North America is held in Quebec City and Montreal each September. The race in Quebec City is on a Friday and the race in Montreal in on a Sunday. The riders usually train on Saturday on the Montreal race circuit with a handful of cycling enthusiasts like me. This year was no exception.

Grand Prix Cycliste Course, Montreal. September.

Grand Prix Cycliste Course, Montreal. September.

7 – In front of our team bus with my wife Mary Lou in Quebec City just before the start of the Tour de Beauce stage that takes place in the old part of Quebec City.

Tour de Beauce, Quebec City. July.

Tour de Beauce, Quebec City. July.

8 – At the wedding of Team Novo Nordisk founder and CEO Phil Southerland and his wife Biljana.

Atlanta, Georgia. August.

Atlanta, Georgia. August.

9 – With my friend Dave Burke just outside Buellton, California where I learned the ropes and spent a lot of time training a few years ago.

Buellton, California. December.

Buellton, California. December.

10 – On November 14th I turned 50 and I am very grateful that my coach Jason Tullous could find the time to come for the party.

Montreal in November.

Montreal in November.

